Details of the South Shore Park renovation will be shared at the next Community Council meeting

STATEN ISLAND, NY – The city’s parks department will present plans for improving Greencroft Playground at a virtual Community Board 3 committee meeting on Tuesday, May 10.

During the public hearing, hosted by the council’s Parks and Recreation and Environment Committee, a representative from the city’s Parks and Recreation Department will discuss the Bay Terrace Playground, located near Redgrave Avenues and Greencroft.

The $8.4 million upgrade was announced by former Borough President Joseph Oddo in August 2021.

Plans include improving the park’s active play capacity, better accessibility, environmental amenities and green infrastructure, and work to reduce flooding in low-lying areas.

The meeting will take place at 7 p.m.

In addition, a public hearing of the planning committee will take place at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, May 11. There is no set agenda.

Those interested in attending either meeting must register by 9:00 a.m. on the day of the meeting. An email with a link to join the meeting will be sent on the day of the meeting. To visit to register for meetings.

Community Commission 1

Community Board 1 will hold a virtual meeting of its full board on Tuesday, May 10 at 6:30 p.m. The meeting will be held via Zoom. The meeting ID is 817 4013 6842.

Those wishing to speak at the public session should email [email protected] no later than 5 p.m. Monday, May 9.

Community Council 2

Community Board 2 had not announced a planned meeting at the time of publication.


All meetings of the Community Council and meetings of its committees are open to the public. They provide a great opportunity for residents to learn about events happening in and around their neighborhood.

Below is more information about the three community councils on the island:


Arlington — Castleton Corners — Clifton — Concord — Elm Park — Fort Wadsworth — Graniteville — Grymes Hill — Livingston — Mariners Harbor — New Brighton — Port Richmond — Randall Manor — Rosebank — St. George — Shore Acres — Silver Lake — Stapleton — Sunnyside — Tompkinsville—West Brighton—Westerleigh.

The Chairman of the Board is Nicholas Siclari. The phone number is 718-981-6900.


Arrochar — Bloomfield — Bulls Head — Chelsea — Dongan Hills — Egbertville — Emerson Hill — Grant City — Grasmere — High Rock — Lighthouse Hill — Midland Beach — New Dorp — New Springville — Oakwood — Ocean Breeze — Old Town — Richmond — South Beach — Todt Hill—Travis.

The phone number is 718-568-3581. The fax number is 718-568-3595. The President is Robert J. Collegio, PE The District Manager is Debra A. Derrico.


Annadale—Arden Heights—Bay Terrace—Charleston—Eltingville—Great Kills—Greenridge—Huguenot—New Dorp—Oakwood—Pleasant Plains—Prince’s Bay—Richmond Valley—Richmond—Rossville—Tottenville—Woodrow.

The office phone number is 718-356-7900. The Chairman of the Board is Frank Morano; the district manager is Charlene Wagner.